WYRDYSM GAMES

Home of Battleships Forever
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:54 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:37 am 
Offline
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:50 am
Posts: 2519
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
You see, the amount of gut your ships have just depends from how brave your computer is.

You just have a very pansy computer. That's all.

_________________
Check out The Star Wreck project!
Check out the Epic Music Library
Image
And in this Alliance we bestow our hope and will, that the Dogs of War may never harass the people of our homes again, and that it will bring peace, equality and liberty for all in need and despair. One Universe, One Goal. By the Manifest we command this.~ Saren Vil Ush


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:44 am 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:43 am
Posts: 319
Location: Florida, USA
*delurk for actual helpfulness*

Zone21: It sounds like you're just setting the AI range too high. The standard sandbox is only 1 or 2 thousand units(pixels) across. Try making a brand new ship, leaving the AI range alone, and seeing if the problem persists? If it does, a clean reinstall of the game seems in order.

*relurk*

_________________
seriously sws. seriously oh my gawd seriously.

Author of DAF and Sillyness
Co-founder Homeworld:@


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 6:01 am 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:10 am
Posts: 4
Thank you very much Siber. That was exactly it. I had tried to set the range to 400, but ended up setting the range to 4000. Everything is all good now guys. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:06 am 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:43 am
Posts: 319
Location: Florida, USA
Glad to be a help.

_________________
seriously sws. seriously oh my gawd seriously.

Author of DAF and Sillyness
Co-founder Homeworld:@


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: WTF
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:52 am 
Offline
One-Ban Limit

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:19 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Maquesas Interplanetary Expedition Force Flagship
FIXED

just had to delete the turrets and start over with weapons that was all

_________________
"What is it your Borg friends say? Resistance is futile."


Last edited by XEALMOX on Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:00 am 
Offline
Commander
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:17 am
Posts: 139
All that, from one station?!

Scrap, rebuild.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:46 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:09 am
Posts: 1978
I'm making a station using, among other things, the mega boom sprite that came with the modified shipmaker. I often use the new sprites and never have trouble getting them to load, but this is the first time I've used this particular one. I get the following error in game, regardless of sprite size, color, or parenting order:

___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object __newobject813:

Error in code at line 25:
nSec(-115,-175,spr_MegaBoomAlpha,2.30,2.30,0,-1,-1,12632256)

at position 16: Unknown variable spr_MegaBoomAlpha



Please let me know if you can help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:31 am 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:25 pm
Posts: 354
Location: Queensland, Australia
I think that sprite doesn't work because it contains a few pure black pixels, either that or BSF itself doesn't actually recognise it as a sprite...

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:30 pm 
Offline
One-Ban Limit

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:19 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Maquesas Interplanetary Expedition Force Flagship
isn't MegaBoomAlpha a explosion i have used it in a station and had error's with it aswell

_________________
"What is it your Borg friends say? Resistance is futile."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:34 pm 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:09 am
Posts: 1978
it is for the explosion, but its not animated from what I can tell. Sucks cuz I was so happy to find a ready made ring...Anyone know a way around this or is it hopeless?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:48 pm 
Offline
One-Ban Limit

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:19 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Maquesas Interplanetary Expedition Force Flagship
tried making it from a section first and colouring it in a bright colour... seems that fixed it for me

_________________
"What is it your Borg friends say? Resistance is futile."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:38 pm 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:09 am
Posts: 1978
I'm trying variations like you said but nothings working so far. Bullet driver mono also has a problem; If i stretch it more than a little it moves equivalently away from where its supposed to be. :evil: Its well accepted that nothing can be done to the actual shipmaker, but is there any reason that someone can't go back and fix the modified shipmaker?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:03 am 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign

Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 2:18 am
Posts: 2
Location: Bothell
Its this simple. sanbox dosent work! I select a ship I want to use, my curser changes to the place ship curser, I click to create the ship... And nothing happens! please tell me whats wrong, because I can't use ships I've built now, exept when you select sanbox mode in the minigame raid.

Lynx557


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:37 am 
Offline
FOOLISH SAMURAI
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 4033
Location: UK
jwa8402 wrote:
I'm trying variations like you said but nothings working so far. Bullet driver mono also has a problem; If i stretch it more than a little it moves equivalently away from where its supposed to be. :evil: Its well accepted that nothing can be done to the actual shipmaker, but is there any reason that someone can't go back and fix the modified shipmaker?


Welcome to the concept of what GM calls the "origin" of a sprite. If one was to change the origin coordinates in SM, the origin coordinates in BSF would have to be changed as well. And that would screw with drivers in the game as well.

This is simply unfixable. Sorry.

_________________
  /l、
゙(゚、 。 7
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:03 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:09 am
Posts: 1978
Thanks Arcalane, I appreciate the answer.

Lynx wrote:
Its this simple. sanbox dosent work! I select a ship I want to use, my curser changes to the place ship curser, I click to create the ship... And nothing happens! please tell me whats wrong, because I can't use ships I've built now, exept when you select sanbox mode in the minigame raid.

Lynx557


More info would be helpful.
1)Once you click and nothing happens, does the game freeze or does the ship just not appear? When loading large ships, it can take up to several minutes to load if they have enough sections or you computer sucks enough.
2)Have you tried loading ships other than what you built? Like going into the custom ships folder and loading a Cronus or Leviathan?
3)What happens if you save and launch the ship straight from shipbuilder? At that point either the ship should load or you should get an error message.
4) Are you using the most current version, and or using the modified shipbuilder?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group