WYRDYSM GAMES

Home of Battleships Forever
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:36 am 
Offline
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:11 am
Posts: 29
Hello.

Recently, I've been having some issues with a custom ship in the BF sandbox. When I try to spawn the ship/select it, it gives numerous divide by zero errors.

It give something like this:

_
ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: User Defined 0
for object GUI_HudText:

Error in code at line 55:
draw_healthbar(barx,bary,barx + barlength,bary +GUI_HealthBarHeight ,l_owner.l_weapon[i].l_hp/l_owner.l_weapon[i].l_maxhp*100,$000000,$0000FF,$00FF00,0,1,0)

at position 133: Division by 0.



This isn't my first custom ship, and I don't think I'm doing anything wrong with the sprite settings. From my observations, it seems that the issue is mainly due to some kind of drawing error in the HUD side bar, since it fails to show the health of individual ship sections.

I didn't find anything related to this after searching the forums and skimming the FAQ, so any help would be appreciated.

EDIT: I remodeled it and the problem was resolved. Probably a fluke. Thanks for the help, everyone.

_________________
Look At Me Still Talking When There's Science To Do...


Last edited by Happycake on Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:48 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:14 am
Posts: 1501
Location: Castle Anthrax
It has nothing to do with the ship. This was a recurring issue for a while, but as far as I know it's gone since this came out

_________________
naysayers will be shot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:57 am 
Offline
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:11 am
Posts: 29
Oh. I see. I've been using a ported mac version, so I can't install the fighter update unless I integrate it using wine. Will reinstalling the game help, or will I have to redo & save the entire ship?

_________________
Look At Me Still Talking When There's Science To Do...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:29 am 
Offline
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:30 am
Posts: 974
Well I find that things always seem to work when I integrate using Wine! :lol: jk

_________________
Deus Est Mechanicus

Owner of 'The Novian Empire', a Delphinius Gulf Wars faction.
Fleet Version 1.8 is finally available for download!
http://www.wyrdysm.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=70&t=7081


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:31 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:14 am
Posts: 1501
Location: Castle Anthrax
All ships you made on the newest official version will work in the Fighterbay version.

_________________
naysayers will be shot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:58 am 
Offline
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:11 am
Posts: 29
Understood. Thanks for the help, everyone.

_________________
Look At Me Still Talking When There's Science To Do...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:31 am 
Offline
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:11 am
Posts: 29
I tried it with the new beta release (on a PC) and had the same problem. Is there any reliable fix?

_________________
Look At Me Still Talking When There's Science To Do...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:11 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:14 am
Posts: 1501
Location: Castle Anthrax
Another thing I tried is to never open sandbox first. Do a playtest against the leviathan every time you fire it up, then go to the sandbox. I've never had an issue doing that either.

_________________
naysayers will be shot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandbox Error
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:12 am 
Offline
The Tutorialist
The Tutorialist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:42 am
Posts: 937
Location: Looking for angels in the Maze of the Dead.
It may be that one of the weapons have zero HP or something. Check their settings. HP is found in the EDIT tab with the weapon selected.

_________________
Has written a series of tutorials for the newbies
Zalausai's Tutorial Index

Created: Elements of Discord, Heaven's Grace, and Hell's Last Battalion.

I stop in from time to time to check in on the community. Though I don't spend much time with shipmaker anymore, I can take requests or write a tutorial for someone.
Proud parent since: 8/15/2013 (Baby Boy)

Good shipbuilders never die . . . they just fade away.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group