WYRDYSM GAMES

Home of Battleships Forever
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:58 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 542 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 10:07 am 
Offline
FOOLISH SAMURAI
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 4028
Location: UK
The last comment was largely directed at jwa's 'delete it and hope it doesn't fuck shit up entirely' approach. :)

If you want a weapon that isn't visible, I recommend using the alpha settings. You should be able to use the shot width settings under Edit2 for scaling.

_________________
  /l、
゙(゚、 。 7
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:05 am 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:54 am
Posts: 3
Here is the biggest tip in the world. Minimize this page, open up the editor, mess around with it. just click random crap and see what It dose. In one day I was creating gatling railgun broadsides just by screwing around with buttons on The editor. The forum is a LAST resort.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:00 am 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:22 am
Posts: 8
I'm not really sure if I have the right place, but...

I had a ship that used the ship spawning module. It worked well. I tried it on another ship, but it wouldn't accept the ship file. Upon attempting to alter the first module (which had worked) ,it also messed up. I'm not sure what happened.

Any help would be appreciated.

_________________
1st line of defense: Armed Forces
2nd line of defense: Armed Forces with alien tech/allies
3rd line of defense:Angry Civilians
4th line of defense: Furry/scaly/feathery animals, plants, germs etc.

We can defend against ANYTHING!...*nuclear war*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:32 am 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 490
Pictures of the stats you used would be helpful, as well as a more detailed description of "exactly" what you did.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:47 pm 
Offline
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:34 am
Posts: 1270
Location: Halifax, Canada
There are a fair few errors with ship spawners. Every time you select the module in shipmaker you have to reload the ship you want it to spawn. As well, if the ai tries to use it while you're placing a ship in sandbox the spawner will fail permanently (until you reopen sandbox) and there may be an error message.

That said, I'm not entirely sure of what you did, some clarification would help. In particular what do you mean you tried it on another ship and what do you mean it wouldn't accept the ship file?

_________________
My Random Very Old Ships, Fleets, and Links to Other Ships and Fleets
My (Not Particularly) New Ships
My New Encounters - C&C Wanted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:33 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:09 am
Posts: 1978
Just renoticed this thread. No sarcasm at all, but I'd really like to know what possible damage could be caused by isolating a weapon/sprite thats lost off screen and deleting it? If you've done it right, nothing is linked to it in any way... :roll:
Not saying your way of editing it isn't better, just that I've done this for years and never had a problem...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 2:40 am 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:22 am
Posts: 8
I don't know if this helps, but I had made one ship spawn other kinds of ships. I think at some point I had an A.I. version of the ship. then I tried to make another ship that could make other ships. I would load the ship file, check to see if it was there by de-selecting and re-selecting it. So, I believe that I encountered one or both of the issues addressed by Bad Boy.(please tell me I did that right; I'm learning about how to write on a forum by trial-and-error.)

I hope this explains this better; I've always been bad at explanation.

_________________
1st line of defense: Armed Forces
2nd line of defense: Armed Forces with alien tech/allies
3rd line of defense:Angry Civilians
4th line of defense: Furry/scaly/feathery animals, plants, germs etc.

We can defend against ANYTHING!...*nuclear war*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:22 am 
Offline
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:34 am
Posts: 1270
Location: Halifax, Canada
Yeah, probably the second problem I pointed out. When letting the ai use ship spawners be careful about adding ships, if a ship tries to use the spawner while you're adding a ship (i.e. anytime between pressing the add ship button and until clicking so the ship's facing is set) that spawner will stop working and pop up an error each time it tries to spawn a ship. Other spawners on that or other ships will work fine.
If you really want to add ships in the middle of a situation where the ai is spawning ships, freezing them might work (not sure though, it might not), though I believe it causes other problems.

_________________
My Random Very Old Ships, Fleets, and Links to Other Ships and Fleets
My (Not Particularly) New Ships
My New Encounters - C&C Wanted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:40 am 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:31 am
Posts: 2
Hi, whenever one of my ships fires an EMP torpedo, I receive error messages practically every frame until the torpedo hits or goes off screen. The message reads:

Code:

ERROR in
action number 1
of Destroy Event
for object EBulletEMPTorpedo:

Error in code at line 2:
   part_particles_create_color(global.SFX_Sparker,x,y,l_boom,image_blend,1)

at position 53: Unknown variable l_boom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:56 am 
Offline
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:42 pm
Posts: 67
Quote:
ERROR in
action number 1
of Destroy Event
for object EBulletEMPTorpedo:

Error in code at line 2:
part_particles_create_color(global.SFX_Sparker,x,y,l_boom,image_blend,1)

at position 53: Unknown variable l_boom




You have to re download the game because it is not doing something right check your paths and stuff

_________________
FULL SPEED AHEAD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:46 pm 
Offline
Tournamentator
Tournamentator

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:14 am
Posts: 669
Location: UK
mato9020 wrote:
Quote:
ERROR in
action number 1
of Destroy Event
for object EBulletEMPTorpedo:

Error in code at line 2:
part_particles_create_color(global.SFX_Sparker,x,y,l_boom,image_blend,1)

at position 53: Unknown variable l_boom




You have to re download the game because it is not doing something right check your paths and stuff


No you don't. This a known error that has never been properly fixed. It happens when a ship that has already been stunned by an EMP gets hit by an EMP torpedo. The tropedo will travel over the ship, giving you that error message every frame it's in contact. Basically just avoid spamming EMP torpedos.

_________________
There is no OP, there is only more boosters...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2013 10:17 pm 
Offline
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:15 am
Posts: 29
It's probably a common question, but...
For some reason when I load my ships into Sandbox, they become much, MUCH less saturated than they actually are. What's the reason for that, and how to fix that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:57 am 
Offline
The Tutorialist
The Tutorialist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:42 am
Posts: 931
Location: Looking for angels in the Maze of the Dead.
This is caused off the section colors being averaged together. Yes, it's ugly. Disable it in the options menu. There should be an option called "gradients" or something. Just turn it off.

_________________
Has written a series of tutorials for the newbies
Zalausai's Tutorial Index

Created: Elements of Discord, Heaven's Grace, and Hell's Last Battalion.

I stop in from time to time to check in on the community. Though I don't spend much time with shipmaker anymore, I can take requests or write a tutorial for someone.
Proud parent since: 8/15/2013 (Baby Boy)

Good shipbuilders never die . . . they just fade away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:33 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain

Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 480
In one of SWS's video I saw he had a list of parts on the right side of shipmaker which he could scroll through and pick parts more easily. How?

_________________
"Quotes posted on the internet are hard to verify."
-Abraham Lincoln


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shipmaking Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:35 pm 
Offline
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:14 am
Posts: 1441
Location: Castle Anthrax
Hit z


10chars

_________________
naysayers will be shot


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 542 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group