Newbie here - Strategy versus Clickfest

Discuss all things Battleships Forever that aren't Ships and Shipmaker - Missions, Development, etc.!

Moderators: th15, Moderators

Rainman4500
Ensign
Ensign

Newbie here - Strategy versus Clickfest

Post by Rainman4500 »

Hi all,

I just discovered this game and I really like the look and feel.

I have a small question for experienced players.

The game rules and ship stats (Weapon arc, shield management) lets me believe this is a deep strategy game but When I play it seems limited to a click fest. (Select all ships and click a target)

Do you take time to manage your shields and orient your ships?
(I.e. Yse Pause a lot or play using a slower setting)

Just wondering if I'm missing something.

Thanks
Squishy
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral

Post by Squishy »

You can get away with straight up shooting in campaign mode.

But for skirmish modes like Grinder, you'll need to use tactical positioning and prioritize targets to get maximum points.

This applies to stock ship combat, not so much with custom ships that can fight brutally unscathed.
Realism, seriously? It's a space ship game. Realism was thrown out the window a long time ago.
Silverware
Commodore
Commodore

Post by Silverware »

I hate it how so many people confuse Strategy with Tactics.
This is a Real Time Tactics. Not a RTS.
There are very very few true RTS's out on the market today, and most of them feature RTT for the combat side of things.

To tell them apart is easy.

Tactical games are about controlling ships, individual units, or building a base on a single battlefield.
Typical examples are : Command and Conquer, BSF, Stronghold, Company of Heroes, Dawn of War (Partly).

While Strategy games are about controlling an empire, many fleets between stars, or large scale planetary conquest.
An example is : Imperium Galactica 2, Railroad Tycoon, SimCity.

There are few true Real Time Strategies but there are many turn based ones.