WYRDYSM GAMES

Home of Battleships Forever
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:33 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 7:34 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
Can someone tell me some beam sprites that is bigger than the normal beamer?
I have the repack but I don't know witch one is good, can someone point it out?
Thank you.

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:42 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore

Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 520
You can mod beams (edit 2 tab). And get the fighterbay release, it has some nice stuff.

_________________
"Quotes posted on the internet are hard to verify."
-Abraham Lincoln


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:56 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
I actually put the fighterbay release executable files in the BSF repack root folder.
EDIT : Still, some people can make beam that has shading, while I only make plain beams. There's gotta be a beam sprite that i need!

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:59 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 718
Custom beam sprites glitch out when surfaces are on, so don't bother. Just use the rescale options in ED2.
If you want the fancier beams, use the fusionbeam or pulsebeam. Also IIRC Shockbeams resize themselves based on the damage value given, so that's another possibility.

_________________
Blue Planet wrote:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:07 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
Oh, thanks for the info.

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:23 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
Oh and did someone know any asteroid sprite packs i can use?

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:45 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:43 am
Posts: 267
Location: A place with sand, lots of sand.
I doubt anyone has ever taken effort to make custom asteroids...

I don't know if your spriting is a s good as your shipbuilding, but if that's true, you could do them yourself.

_________________
Quite frankly I wonder why I ever began making ships for this. You see, my work never becomes quite as good as I feel it deserves to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:26 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore

Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 520
You can always use the ones that come with the shipmaker and set their colours to a shade of grey.

_________________
"Quotes posted on the internet are hard to verify."
-Abraham Lincoln


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:45 am 
Offline
Admiral
Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:14 am
Posts: 1501
Location: Castle Anthrax
The asteroid sprites that come with the game are actually quite good to use. You also could always make your own with a quick google image search and some mild photo editing magic.

_________________
naysayers will be shot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:37 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
I once found the asteroid sprites from Kaelis. It was actually in a thread for the old custom edition BSF. Sadly I won't work even after I converted it into .png .
I can't photoshop things.

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 6:53 pm 
Offline
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:13 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Inside your brick wall
*thinks* I bet there's something on the Internet that can be used for editing, there just has to be...

EDIT: Bingo, GIMP (http://www.gimp.org/downloads/) probably has something you can use.

_________________
Now working on those nice needle beamers. Beware!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:47 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
I have GIMP, but i don't think i can do much with it.

But thanks for telling me.

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:27 pm 
Offline
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:30 am
Posts: 974
GIMP is certainly worth while, I do all my graphics work using it.

_________________
Deus Est Mechanicus

Owner of 'The Novian Empire', a Delphinius Gulf Wars faction.
Fleet Version 1.8 is finally available for download!
http://www.wyrdysm.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=70&t=7081


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:48 am 
Offline
Captain
Captain

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:43 am
Posts: 267
Location: A place with sand, lots of sand.
Care to share those asteroids? Maybe someone else can convert them with whatever program they use.

_________________
Quite frankly I wonder why I ever began making ships for this. You see, my work never becomes quite as good as I feel it deserves to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sprites that I need
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:45 am 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:24 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Indonesia
I tried to convert them with gimp, paint by saving as a .png file. It came out like a broken image.
The same goes when using online converters.
I have edited them so it has transparent background. It didn't really help since it is so small.

_________________
The Comerlian Family


Dammit, didn't realize Starsector is really hard.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group