WYRDYSM GAMES

Home of Battleships Forever
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 5:24 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 7:55 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:46 am
Posts: 1590
I went through the code responsible for shooting and driver weapons, and i didnt find anything. I will need more details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:15 am 
Offline
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:50 am
Posts: 2519
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
There are none. But now it also seems to happen when I just set shooting to 1 and burst to zero, so it's probably independant from that.

Note; all tests were made with player controlled ships, so I'm not sure about AI's.

EDIT; shall do.


Last edited by ArcaneDude on Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:46 am
Posts: 1590
At least give me an sb4.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:50 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:07 pm
Posts: 423
Latest version; old (1.612) sb4 resaved after adding ThrustEx's.

Code:
ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object __newobject992:

In script nSec2b:
Error in code at line 2:
   obj = l_section[j].id

at position 8: Unknown variable l_section

___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Draw Event
for object ctr_GUI:

Error in code at line 292:
                   draw_healthbar(barx + 1 + barlength/2,bary,barx + barlength,bary +GUI_HealthBarHeight*2 ,seltarg.l_syshp/seltarg.l_maxsyshp*100,$000000,$0000FF,$00AA00,0,1,0)

at position 115: Unknown variable l_syshp

___________________________________________


DL (.sb4 and .shp) here: http://www.wyrdysm.com/battleshipsforev ... s/Trig.rar

Required custom sprites:
spr_Core.png, spr_Alien.png, in the /Folder directory.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:14 pm 
Offline
Commander
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:59 am
Posts: 214
Location: Canada
I have the same issue, but I made my ship from scratch.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:15 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 342
Location: Tellus Tertius
Well, I have a slight problem. I can't open .sb4 files made with the last version of SM. Open old gives me nonsense and crashes. I would include a sample of it here, but it's acting like it's only a few lines, and if so would stretch the forum a few thousand pixels. I can PM it if you like. It doesn't matter which .sb4 I try to open, this happens with every one I try.

_________________
"Okay. I'm gonna get your money for ya. But if you don't get the President of the United States on that phone, you know what's gonna happen to you?"
"What?!"
"You're gonna have to answer to the Coca Cola company."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:44 pm 
Offline
Pseudofeline Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:37 am
Posts: 4034
Location: UK
Have you used the "open old sb4" option? :roll:

_________________
  /l、
゙(゚、 。 7
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 852
Weapon drivers and weapon links in old sb4s make errors, so you need to clear them out and then proceed to open the old sb4.

That's just one of the possibilities, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:45 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:46 am
Posts: 1590
Swamp Fox wrote:
Open old gives me nonsense and crashes. I would include a sample of it here, but it's acting like it's only a few lines, and if so would stretch the forum a few thousand pixels.

...what? Why can't you just upload it like everyone else?

EDIT: Nevermind all bugs with loading and saving. Ive fixed them. don't try load old sb4s and don't make ships with ThrusterEx for now... ill make a new release once im done with triggers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:35 pm 
Offline
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Below My Postcount
I've been more or less AWOL for just about two months now, so I find myself newb enough to test a release.

First problem: I can only use the twenty-four stock sections. Where did I go wrong?

EDIT: After a bit of snooping, I found that the sections were split into groups, and logic followed that I somehow overlooked the button to switch between the groups. The problem was temporarily fixed by combining every sprite into one master group, changing the numbers correspondingly, of course.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:59 pm 
Offline
Captain
Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:07 pm
Posts: 423
Quote:
EDIT: After a bit of snooping, I found that the sections were split into groups, and logic followed that I somehow overlooked the button to switch between the groups. The problem was temporarily fixed by combining every sprite into one master group, changing the numbers correspondingly, of course.


That's been around for a while. Go to Tools >> Enable 1234 (or some similar option). Then you can go between the groups with the keys 1, 2, 3, and 4.

Also, use z to bring up a menu showing all the sections (in the active group) on the right side of the screen.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:58 pm 
Offline
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:50 am
Posts: 2519
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Two bugs;

1) Section picker sometimes spawns two sections; the one I'm trying to spawn, and the one next to it, on the right side. This happens only in section picker. The highlight on the section button seems to stick, or lag. I don't know if that's related to it though.

2) After about an hour of building, the mouse cursor dissapeared when I moved it into the SM window. It still functions properly, it's just invisible.

I'll restart SM and see if that gets rid of the bugs.

_________________
Check out The Star Wreck project!
Check out the Epic Music Library
Image
And in this Alliance we bestow our hope and will, that the Dogs of War may never harass the people of our homes again, and that it will bring peace, equality and liberty for all in need and despair. One Universe, One Goal. By the Manifest we command this.~ Saren Vil Ush


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:46 am
Posts: 1590
You will need to be much more specific about the second error. As usual.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:48 am 
Offline
Commander
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:59 am
Posts: 214
Location: Canada
Ships with sections throw errors when they're spawned in-game. I've tested it rather thoroughly. Even a single section breaks the ship. Virtually any number of weapons and modules, including ThrusterEx, can be attached directly to the core without causing trouble, so long as there are no sections.

It also seems that your code for saving the ThrusterEx's is broken. It's a bit hard to explain, but it looks like every ThrusterEx included after the first has the function call and the ThrusterEx designation reversed.

I'll post the exact messages later, I'm just writing from memory.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:25 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:46 am
Posts: 1590
Sections - No idea, everything works fine on my end. Maybe theres a bug in current ver of BSFCE that i unknowingly fixed in my source.

ThrusterEx - Apparently you missed this:
Kaelis wrote:
EDIT: Nevermind all bugs with loading and saving. Ive fixed them. don't try load old sb4s and don't make ships with ThrusterEx for now... ill make a new release once im done with triggers.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group